Will any Tampa Bay Rays win awards in 2020?

Finalists will be revealed later for this year’s BBWAA awards but will the Tampa Bay Rays get rewarded for reaching the World Series?

If the Gold Glove Awards finalists are a measure then the Rays are going to miss out on recognition. Three-time winner Kevin Kiermaier did not feature as no Rays players made the final selection.

Later today, the BBWAA announce the finalists for the Rookie of the Year, Manager of the Year, Cy Young and Most Valueable player awards. The winners are announced next week and surely Tampa Bay will get a finalist in at least one of the categories. Blake Snell was the last Rays player to win a BBWAA award when he won the AL CY Young in 2018.

Despite missing out on the Gold Glove this year, Kevin Kiermaier has won the 2020 Fielding Bible Award for center field. It was the second time that Kiermaier has won the award as he held off the Minnesota Twins’ Byron Buxton. It was a close contest but the Rays’ ace center fielder won on a tiebreaker.

Kiermaier was credited with a total of ten runs saved in 2020 which was double the next Rays’ fielder which was Mike Brosseau. Ten runs saved was fifth equal in MLB alongside World Series rival Mookie Betts of the Dodgers.

The nominees for the 2020 All-MLB first and second teams have been released with Nick Anderson and Brandon Lowe getting recognition. Voting takes place until November 13 and fans can make their selection.

It will be interesting to see if Nick Anderson’s poor playoffs affects voting. Also, he relieved Blake Snell in game 6 of the World Series. Lowe’s bat was hot and cold in the postseason and may reflect in his voting too. Hopefully, Rays fans will support their players.