Tampa Bay Rays match MLB history with 13th consecutive win to start the season

Boston Red Sox v Tampa Bay Rays
Boston Red Sox v Tampa Bay Rays / Julio Aguilar/GettyImages

Completing a sweep of the Red Sox on Thursday, the Tampa Bay Rays joined the Milwaukee Brewers and Atlanta Braves for the longest winning streak to open the MLB season at 13-0.

Now that's how you start a 25th anniversary celebration.

They now have a chance to stand alone atop the list Friday night in Toronto.

Tampa Bay Rays rally back vs Red Sox to go 13-0

The streak was only briefly in jeopardy before the Rays blew open the doors to win 9-3. Boston went up 2-1 after the fourth inning and pushed that lead as high as 3-1 after the top half of the fifth inning. It didn't last long after that.

The Rays responded with a seven-run fifth inning to take an 8-3 lead. The inning featurd a bunt-single by Manuel Margot with bases loaded, followed by Harold Ramirez cleaning the bases with a three-run double.

Brandon Lowe added just a little extra in the seventh inning with a 399-foot home run to go up by six runs.

On the mound, the news was a little less good. Starter Jeffrey Springs left in the fourth inning with what the Rays called "left arm ulnar neuritis." TB Times reporer Marc Tompkin said Springs will be reevaluated on Friday.

After Garrett Cleavinger stumbled in sudden relief duty, Kevin Kelly and Braden Bristo pitched the final 5-2/3 innings to close out the Red Sox.

Longest winning streaks to start the year in MLB history

  • Tampa Bay Rays, 13-0 (2023)
  • Milwaukee Brewers, 13-0 (1987)
  • Atlanta Braves, 13-0 (1982)
  • Oakland Athletics, 11-0 (1981)
  • Brooklyn Dodgers, 10-0 (1955)
  • Pittsburgh Pirates, 10-0 (1962)
  • Cleveland Indians, 10-0 (1966)

Via CBS Sports